How do you want to login to your MUCH account?

Don't have an account? Sign up now.

It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.

loading

Drake, Shawn Mendes, Pokémon Go And More Of 2016’s Biggest Social Media Moments

shawn-mendes-and-drake-social

From #Lemonade to #USElections to #Olympics, there were no shortage of topics to discuss on social media in 2016. Shocking celebrity deaths, incredible artistic releases, devastating world events and the return of Pokémon kept people hooked to Instagram and Facebook in 2016.

Instagram Canada and Instagram Facebook have been following the biggest conversations and the biggest celebs of the year, both at home in Canada and around the world. Collecting data throughout the year, including instances of hashtags, were compiled and now we know what and who everyone was talking about in 2016.

Drake enjoyed the #Views from the top this year, becoming the most-followed Canadian celeb with 30.4 million Instagram followers. In second place was Shawn Mendes and his 16.1 million followers, with both men taking the top three spots for most liked Instagram post by a Canadian this year.

Even though she took a break from the spotlight and posting on social media, Selena Gomez still came in as the most-followed celeb of 2016, boasting 103 million followers.

Check out all the stats below to find out which celebs and stories ruled 2016, as well as the top hashtags for food and fashion.

Top hashtag of 2016 (global): #love

Most-followed Canadians of 2016 on Instagram

1. Drake (@champagnepapi)- 30.4 million followers
2. Shawn Mendes (@shawnmendes) – 16.1 million followers
3. The Weeknd (@theweeknd) – 7.6 million followers
4. Avril Lavigne (@avrillavigne) – 4.2 million followers
5. Farah Dhukai (@farahdhukai) – 4.1 million followers
6. Kristen Hancher (@kristenhancher) – 2.2 million followers
7. Lyzabeth Lopez (@lyzabethlopez) – 2.1 million followers
8. deadmau5 (@deadmau5) – 2 million followers
9. Jeremy Bieber (@jeremybieber) – 1.9 million followers
10. Yolanda Gampp (@yolanda_gampp) – 1.9 million followers

Most-followed celebrities of 2016 on Instagram

1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 103 million followers
2. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – 93.9 million followers
3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 90.2 million followers
4. Beyonce (@beyonce) – 89.2 million followers
5. Kim Kardashian (@kimkardashian) – 88.2 million followers
6. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 82.8 million followers
7. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 80 million followers
8. Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 71.5 million followers
9. Nicki Minaj (@nickiminaj) – 69.4 million followers
10. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) – 69.2 million followers

Most-used Instagram Filters (global):

1. Clarendon
2. Gingham
3. Juno
4. Lark
5. Moon

Most Instagrammed locations of 2016 (based on global geotag data):

1. Disney Properties
2. Universal Studios Properties
3. Central Park
4. Times Square, New York City
5. Eiffel Tower
6. Louvre Museum
7. Las Vegas Strip
8. Santa Monica Pier
9. Brooklyn Bridge
10. ВДНХ / Vystavka Dostizheniy Narodnogo Khozyaystva

Most-liked Canadian celebrity posts of 2016 on Instagram:

1. Drake

2. Shawn Mendes

A photo posted by Shawn Mendes (@shawnmendes) on

3. Drake

Woke up with a new to do list.

A photo posted by champagnepapi (@champagnepapi) on

Most discussed Canadian topics on Facebook for 2016:

1. US Elections
2. Fort McMurray wildfire
3. Blue Jays
4. Pokemon Go
5. Gord Downie & The Tragically Hip
6. David Bowie
7. Rodrigo Duterte & Philippine Presidential Elections
8. Toronto Raptors
9. Brexit
10. Olympics

Most discussed global topics on Facebook for 2016:

1. US Elections
2. Brazilian Politics
3. Pokemon Go
4. Black Lives Matter
5. Rodrigo Duterte & Philippine Presidential Elections
6. Olympics
7. Brexit
8. Super Bowl
9. David Bowie
10. Muhammed Ali

Top Canadian hashtags:

1. #toronto
2. #love
3. #canada
4. #vancouver
5. #instagood
6. #summer
7. #beautiful
8. #travel
9. #nature
10. #art

Good to be back at the Junos Awards. Feeling healthy and enjoying the positive vibes here #JunoAwards #Canada

A photo posted by Avril Lavigne (@avrillavigne) on

Top fashion hashtags of 2016 (global):

1. #ootd
2. #instafashion
3. #vintage
4. #fashionblogger
5. #fashionista
6. #streetstyle
7. #stylish
8. #mensfashion
9. #instastyle
10. #lookbook

Top food-related hashtags (global):

1. #instafood
2. #foodporn
3. #healthy
4. #foodie
5. #yummy
6. #coffee
7. #delicious
8. #dinner
9. #breakfast
10. #sweet

Top millennial hashtags (global):

1. #swag
2. #goals
3. #meme
4. #dope
5. #aesthetic
6. #beastmode
7. #bookstagram
8. #fire
9. #squad
10. #bae