Avril Lavigne Pulls A 180 With Retro Soul Single ‘Tell Me It’s Over’

It’s been 16 years since Avril Lavigne burst onto the pop scene with her Grammy-nominated debut album Let Go. A teenager herself, Lavigne already possessed a vision for her music that was beyond her years, seeing an industry dominated by bubble gum pop princesses and making the conscious decision to forge her own path. Five albums later, Lavigne is once again committing to bucking the trends and releasing the music she wants to write. In the past, radio has made room for Lavigne, and with her new single “Tell Me It’s Over,” the charts better clear out a spot for Avril’s return.

Following the lead single and title track from her upcoming sixth studio album Head Above Water, “Tell Me It’s Over” veers away from the serious subject matter of the emotional ballad, which was written while the Canadian icon was at her lowest point both physically and mentally due to her Lyme disease diagnosis. “Tell Me It’s Over” marks a return to Lavigne’s previous heartbreak anthems and ballads, but the subject matter is where the comparisons end.

The sultry, Motown-vibe of “Tell Me It’s Over” shows a side of Lavigne fans have yet to hear in her almost two-decade career, with the Napanee native channelling the bluesy vibe of Duffy, Dusty Springfield, and Amy Winehouse. Gone are the guitar-driven dance songs we’re used to expecting from Lavigne, replaced by a piano-heavy heartbreaker of a song that transports listeners to past eras, when love was just as complicated (why’d you have to go and make things so complicated?).

The retro sound of “Tell Me It’s Over” is accentuated by the new Erica Silverman-directed video, which features Avril sporting a beehive and celebrating Christmas like a 1960s housewife. The singer walks around her California home, remembering the good and bad times with the partner she can’t seem to quit. And not that it matters, but since Lavigne almost died from Lyme disease, we have to say it—she looks amazing.

Avril Lavigne’s Head Above Water is available for pre-order now and will be released on February 15, 2019. Check out the full track listing below.

1. Head Above Water
2. Birdie
3. I Fell In Love With The Devil
4. Tell Me It’s Over
5. Dumb Blonde
6. It Was In Me
7. Souvenir
8. Crush
9. Goddess
10. Bigger Wow
11. Love Me Insane
12. Warrior