Bon Iver Is Back With Two Dreamy New Tracks

Bon Iver 22

It’s been five years since Bon Iver’s geographically inspired self-titled album dropped and made the band the darlings of dreamy folk pop. Now the Justin Vernon-led band is readying to release their next effort and from what we’ve heard so far, it’s gonna be amazing. Ed Sheeran will be excited.

Bon Iver played the Eaux Claires Music Festival in Vernon’s hometown of Wisconsin on Friday and debuted the upcoming album 22, A Million. Playing the record in its 10-track entirety, Bon Iver ended the set with remixed versions of older tracks, including the very fitting “Minnesota, WI.”

In addition to the live album preview, Bon Iver have also uploaded two of their new tracks to YouTube. “22 (OVER S∞∞N)” is a poetic rambling, with Vernon’s vocals accentuated by a few beautifully delivered notes from a female back-up singer.

The faster-paced “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⚄ ⚄” experiments with brass instruments and relies heavily on autotuned vocals, possibly drawing inspiration from Vernon’s time working with Kanye West on Yeezus.

Vernon’s longtime friend and former bandmate, Trevor Hagen, released an essay about the new record, saying that ’22’ stands for Justin, writing “A mile marker, a jersey number, a bill total.”

If Bon Iver’s last album was all about inspiration from the great outdoors, 22, A Million is a numbers game.

Bon Iver’s third studio album, 22, A Million, arrives on September 30. See the tracklist below.

1. “22 (OVER S∞∞N)”
2. “10 d E A T h b R E a s T ⊠ ⊠”
3. “715 – CRΣΣKS”
4. “33 “GOD””
5. “29 #Strafford APTS”
6. “666 ʇ”
7. “21 M♢♢N WATER”
8. “8 (circle)”
9. “____45_____”
10. “00000 Million”