How do you want to login to your MUCH account?

Don't have an account? Sign up now.

It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.


Calvin Harris’ New Album Is Going To Be SO. FRIGGIN’. GOOD.


Wed, October, 29 by

It’s been two years since Calvin Harris put out his super successful album 18 Months and next week, the DJ/producer will return with a new batch of songs on Motive that’s bound to make a mark on the charts. We haven’t heard the entire album yet, but we’re willing to wager that Harris will release some mighty big hits thanks to his tried and tested formula: infectious yet malleable beats + an impression list of friends.

We saw it on tracks like Bounce featuring Kelis, I Need Your Love featuring Ellie Goulding, Sweet Nothing featuring Florence Welch and, most notably, We Found Love featuring Rihanna. Calvin Harris is clearly a dream collaborator.

The tracklist for Motive boasts a mix of big and up-and-coming names such as Ellie Goulding, Haim, Big Sean, Gwen Stefani, Tinashe and Firebeatz. Let’s take a look at what we’ve already heard.

Summer may not be the summer anthem — that title arguably went to Fancy — but it was darn close. It’s mildly redundant, like most of his songs, but that’s what makes is an eventual earworm. It will get stuck in your head for days, weeks, and now, months. And Harris will not apologize for it. Don’t be surprised if Summer returns next year as a go-to summer playlist addition.

To follow that, we got Blame featuring a young British singer by the name of John Newman. Although all of the hits we listed above feature women, Harris has also had much success with male collaborators and this is one of them. An emotional, guilt-ridden track, Blame pairs Newman’s soaring voice with an even bigger rush of beats, making for one giant anthem that’s been steadily climbing the charts for over a month. We totally dig it.

Outside featuring Ellie Goulding explores the other side of the coin that was I Need Your Love. A breakup song that highlights Goulding’s urgent voice as she claims, “Now I’m on the outside,” the track is bolstered by dramatic build up of faux horns and drums that peaks at the chorus with Harris’ signature hard-hitting rhythmic spikes. In other words: it’s a banger of a follow-up to I Need Your Love and we need more tracks from these two. Please prioritize an entire album, please.

This week alone, we got three more sneak peeks at Motive: Open Wide featuring Big Sean, Together featuring Gwen Stefani and Pray To God featuring Haim. Okay, so the former two aren’t going to stand out as highlights. Both Big Sean’s verses and Harris’ production are generic and quite lazy on Open Wide; they can both do so, so much better. Stefani’s appearance on Together fairs a little better, though it really still rides that mediocre line she’s been walking on with her comeback tracks so far. It’s not great, it’s not terrible, but ultimately, it will get lost in an album that we predict will have a handful more strong contenders than the ones we’ve already talked about above. You can listen to both tracks here and judge for yourself.

But let’s talk about Pray To God. AMEN, HARRIS AND HAIM. On paper, this collab may seem a bit weird, but when you hear those distinct Haim riffs come in at the beginning with Danielle Haim’s voice and then a magical touch of icy synths, you know you’ve reached something new and oh-so exciting. It’s been proven before that Haim’s Fleetwood Mac harmonies lend themselves perfectly to dance mixes and here, we have a wholly original partnership that shines. It leans a little heavily towards Haim’s signature sound than it does Harris’ big, bold production, but when it does burst at the seems of the chorus, it’s pure ecstasy. In fact, it’s the best song off of Motive yet. And we’re not gonna lie, we have not stopped listening to this track all day. It’s some solid proof that Harris’ new album is going to be so damn good that we are dying to get our hands on the full album. BRING IT!

Here’s the full tracklist. Look and drool, my friends.

1. Faith
2. Under Control (with Alesso, feat. Hurts)
3. Blame (feat. John Newman)
4. Love Now (feat. All About She)
5. Slow Acid
6. Outside (feat. Ellie Goulding)
7. It Was You (with Firebeatz)
8. Summer
9. Overdrive (with Ummet Ozcan)
10. Ecstacy (feat. Hurts)
11. Pray To God (feat. Haim)
12. Open Wide (feat. Big Sean)
13. Together (feat. Gwen Stefani)
14. Burnin (with R3hab)
15. Dollar Signs (feat. Tinashe)