How do you want to login to your MUCH account?

Don't have an account? Sign up now.

It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.


Death Cab For Cutie Announce Album ‘Thank You For Today,’ Share First Single

It’s been a while since we’ve heard from Death Cab For Cutie, but now the indie rock band has returned to the music scene with a new song and an impending ninth studio album.

“Gold Rush” is the first single off their forthcoming LP Thank You For Today, dropping August 17. The new track is a bittersweet alt-rock ballad that’s brimming with piano keys that follow frontman Ben Gibbard’s breezy vocals.

Directed by Alex Southam, the music video for “Gold Rush” follows Gibbard singing as he walks against the crowd down a busy, city sidewalk that starts with a ’50s feel, but then evolves with each block until Gibbard finds himself trapped among people staring at their smartphones with the lyrics: “And now that our haunts have taken flight / And been replaced with construction sites / Oh how I feel like a stranger here / Searching for something that’s disappeared.”

“Gold Rush” will get its late night debut on The Late Show With Stephen Colbert on June 21.

In a Facebook post, Gibbard and company explained the process behind the new record, having started it last year in Santa Monica.

The news of their upcoming 10-track LP and new single follows two previously released teasers on YouTube and Twitter that hinted that Death Cab was up to something.

Thank You For Today will be the indie rock band’s first new album since 2015’s Kintsugi, which was generally well received by critics and fans alike and included tracks like “Black Sun,” “The Ghosts of Beverly Drive,” and “No Room in Frame.” This new LP will also mark the group’s first since the departure of founding guitarist Chris Walla, who announced he was leaving the band after the release of Kintsugi. Walla was replaced by touring members Dave Depper (Menomena, Corin Tucker) and Zac Rae (Fiona Apple, Lana Del Rey), who both have now officially joined the group.

“Gold Rush” is also the first new material fans have heard from Death Cab in almost two years, the most recent being their anti-Trump track “Million Dollar Loan” which was released back in October 2016 as part of the 30 Days, 30 Songs project.

Last month, the band announced they would be embarking on a U.S. tour in support of the new album starting in Oregon this September after they play at the Life is Beautiful Music & Art Festival in Las Vegas. See the full list of tour dates here.