Red Hot Chili Peppers Release New ‘Dark Necessities’ And Announce New Album


After teasing fans that a new song would be released today, Red Hot Chili Peppers came through.

They released their new song, “Dark Necessities,” and announced that it would be the first single from their upcoming album, The Getaway, which drops on June 17. This will be the band’s eleventh studio album and their first since 2011’s I’m With You.

The single “Dark Necessities” features a smooth piano and funky bass backing frontman Anthony Kiedis’ vocals.

This new album is the second that features guitarist Josh Klinghoffer, who replaced the group’s guitarist of 21 years, John Frusciante.


Along with a limited vinyl release which includes the record and a cassette copy of the newly released single, the rock’n’roll hall-of-famers added a couple more tour dates to their already extensive list of festival shows.

They head out in just over a week and their 33 stops include performances at Lollapalooza, Reading Festival and Leeds festival. They’re also making three stops in Canada at Ottawa Bluesfest, Osheaga, and The Quebec City Summer Festival.

You can check out the tracklist for The Getaway below, and head to the band’s website to check the rest of the tour dates, and snag the vinyl and lithograph bundle, limited to 5,000 copies worldwide.


1. The Getaway
2. Dark Necessities
3. We Turn Red
4. The Longest Wave
5. Goodbye Angels
6. Sick Love
7. Go Robot
8. Feasting on the Flowers
9. Detroit
10. This Ticonderoga
11. Encore
12. The Hunter
13. Dreams of a Samurai