Listen To Ryan Adams Cover Tegan And Sara’s ‘Back In Your Head’ For ‘The Con X’

The Con X, Covers, Ryan Adams, Tegan and Sara

Only July 24, Canadian musicians Tegan and Sara celebrated the 10 year anniversary of their highly influential fifth studio album The Con by announcing a new project. The Con X: Covers is set to be released later this month on October 20 and will feature all 14 tracks from the original album covered by 14 different artists.

In addition to giving fans new versions of their favourite tracks, the new album is also helping those in need. The net album proceeds from The Con X: Covers will be donated to the Tegan and Sara foundation, which raises money to support LGBTQ women and girls.

Tegan and Sara have already released one cover from the upcoming disc, which featured Scottish band Chvrches covering “Call It Off.” Now the sisters have again dropped another cover, this time enlisting the help of rocker Ryan Adams to completely reimagine “Back In Your Head.”

Sara Quin spoke with Zane Lowe on Beats 1 to premiere the new cover today, an interview that included Sara revealing how it felt to hears Adams’ cover for the first time. “I remember being like, my mind was blown and so there’s something really, for me anyways, very personal about his cover of ‘Back in Your Head’ because you know, I love him and admire him and to have him sing one of our songs is really beautiful,” said Quin.

Adams sped up the tempo of “Back In Your Head” and stripped away the retro pop aesthetic to reimagine it as a more bluesy rock song. It sounds as though Tegan and Sara may also be joining Adams for part of the chorus, something longtime fans will gladly welcome.

We’re loving Adams’ take on the 2007 single, but that doesn’t mean we’re ready to leave the original behind. Check out Tegan and Sara’s “Back In Your Head,” as well as the tracklisting for The Con X: Covers below.

1. Ruth B. – I Was Married
2. MUNA – Relief Next to Me
3. Shura – The Con
4. Mykki Blanco – Knife Going In
5. PVRIS – Are You Ten Years Ago
6. Ryan Adams – Back in Your Head
7. City and Colour – Hop a Plane
8. Kelly Lee Owens – Soil, Soil
9. Bleachers – Burn Your Life Down
10. Hayley Williams of Paramore – Nineteen
11. Sara Bareilles – Floorplan
12. Shamir – Like O, Like H
13. Trashique (GRIMES X HANA) – Dark Come Soon
14. CHVRCHES – Call it Off

Digital Bonus Tracks:

15. Cyndi Lauper – Back in Your Head (Bonus Track)
16. Bleached – One Second (Bonus Track)
17. Vivek Shraya – I Take All the Blame (Bonus Track)
18. Tegan and Sara – Miami Still (Bonus Track Demo)