How do you want to login to your MUCH account?

Don't have an account? Sign up now.

It looks like you haven't changed your password in a while. For your security, please change it now.

You can opt-out from either of these at any time

Any questions or concerns please contact us.

loading

The Biggest Social Media Moments In 2017

Beyonce

Instagram Canada has released their list of the top celebrities, posts, moments, movies and more from 2017. The social media giant has compiled data from January 1, 2017 until November 17, 2017 and found that no surprise, Justin Bieber and his possibly-reunited girlfriend Selena Gomez have remained at the top of the social media empire.

From most liked posts to most buzzed about movies, this is how 2017 looked on social media.

Most-followed Canadians of 2017

1. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 94M+ Followers
2. Drake (@champagnepapi) – 38.6M Followers
3. Shawn Mendes (@shawnmendes) – 26.9M+ Followers
4. Abel Tesfaye (@theweeknd) – 15.9M+ Followers
5. Ryan Reynolds (@vancityreynolds) – 15.7M+ Followers

Most-liked Canadian celebrity posts of 2017

A post shared by Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) on

Top Canadian Insta-Story producers with most views

1. Shawn Mendes (@shawnmendes)
2. Yolanda Gampp (@yolanda_gampp)
3. Johnny Orlando (@johnnyorlando)
4. Drake (@champagnepapi)
5. Winnie Harlow (@winnieharlow)
6. Laiba Zaid (@bodmonzaid)
7. Cristine (@simplynailogical)
8. Janice Joostema(@janicejoostemaa)
9. Alex Centomo (@alexcentomo)
10. Justin Trudeau(@justinpjtrudeau)

Happy Canada day!!!

A post shared by Shawn Mendes (@shawnmendes) on

Top Canadian Hashtags

1. #love
2. #toronto
3. #canada
4. #instagood
5. #photography
6. #art
7. #beautiful
8. #travel
9. #vancouver
10. #nature

Most followed celebrities of 2017 (global)

1. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) – 130M+ Followers
2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) – 116M+ Followers
3. Ariana Grande (@arianagrande) – 115M+ Followers
4. Beyoncé (@beyonce) – 108M+ Followers
5. Kim Kardashian West (@kimkardashian) – 104.9M+ Followers
6. Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) – 104.6M+ Followers
7. Kylie Jenner (@kyliejenner) – 99.5M+ Followers
8. Dwayne Johnson (@therock) – 96M+ Followers
9. Justin Bieber (@justinbieber) – 93.9M+ Followers
10. Kendall Jenner (@kendalljenner) – 84.8M+ Followers

A post shared by Taylor Swift (@taylorswift) on

Most-liked celebrity posts of 2017

1. Beyoncé (@beyonce)

2. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)

3. Selena Gomez (@selenagomez)

I’m very aware some of my fans had noticed I was laying low for part of the summer and questioning why I wasn’t promoting my new music, which I was extremely proud of. So I found out I needed to get a kidney transplant due to my Lupus and was recovering. It was what I needed to do for my overall health. I honestly look forward to sharing with you, soon my journey through these past several months as I have always wanted to do with you. Until then I want to publicly thank my family and incredible team of doctors for everything they have done for me prior to and post-surgery. And finally, there aren’t words to describe how I can possibly thank my beautiful friend Francia Raisa. She gave me the ultimate gift and sacrifice by donating her kidney to me. I am incredibly blessed. I love you so much sis. Lupus continues to be very misunderstood but progress is being made. For more information regarding Lupus please go to the Lupus Research Alliance website: www.lupusresearch.org/ -by grace through faith

A post shared by Selena Gomez (@selenagomez) on

4. Beyoncé (@beyonce)

Sir Carter and Rumi 1 month today.

A post shared by Beyoncé (@beyonce) on

5. Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano)

So happy to be able to hold the two new loves of my life

A post shared by Cristiano Ronaldo (@cristiano) on

Most buzzed about films this year

The data rankings are based on the total global number of IG mentions by either tagging or including the name/title in captions or comments on photos or videos posted to Instagram.

1. Beauty and The Beast (@beautyandthebeast)
2. La La Land (@lalaland)
3. Justice League (@justiceleague)
4. Trolls (@trolls)
5. Guardians of the Galaxy (@guardiansofthegalaxy)
6. Despicable Me (@despicableme)
7. LEGO Batman Movie (@legobatmanmovie)
8. Resident Evil (@residentevil)
9. Ghost In The Shell (@ghostintheshell)
10. The Mummy (@themummy)

Most buzzed about television shows this year

The data rankings are based on the total global number of IG mentions by either tagging or including the name/title in captions or comments on photos or videos posted to Instagram.

1. Game of Thrones (@gameofthrones)
2. Shameless (@shameless)
3. Teen Wolf (@teenwolf)
4. Spongebob (@spongebob)
5. 13 Reasons Why (@13reasonswhy)
6. Pretty Little Liars (@prettylittleliars)
7. Rick and Morty (@rickandmorty)
8. Twin Peaks (@twinpeaks)
9. Orange is the New Black (@oitnb)
10. Once Upon A Time (@onceuponatime)