The Cranberries Debut Stunning New Version Of ‘Linger’ And Announce New Album

If you grew up in the mid-1990s, there’s a good chance The Cranberries were part of your coming-of-age soundtrack. From their somber ballads to emotional pop tunes and hard-hitting punk-inspired singles, the Irish rock band helped define the grunge era, releasing four albums between 1993 and 1999.

Forming in Limerick, Ireland in 1989, the band was fronted by singer Dolores O’Riordan, whose trademark Irish chip in her vocals helped cement the band’s sound. Following the release of Wake Up and Smell the Coffee in 2001, the band took a hiatus, with O’Riordan releasing her first solo album Are You Listening? in 2007 and later No Baggage in 2009.

The Cranberries reunited in 2011 to record their album Roses in Canada, dropping the disc the following year. In 2015, the band celebrated their 25th anniversary and began planning an anniversary album, Something Else, that would feature their biggest tracks, this time performed with the Irish Chamber Orchestra.

The band has now released the first track from Something Else — a remake of their 1993 breakout single “Linger,” written by a then 18 year-old O’Riordan. The stunning remake features the same longing as the original track, now accentuated by the emotional pull of the Irish Chamber Orchestra.


The band posted about the new collaboration on their Facebook page this week, writing, “Over two weeks in Limerick University last year, at the home of the Irish Chamber Orchestra, we revisited old times in new clothes dusting away any cobwebs with strings — our old songs revisited with an orchestra. With a little bit more experience behind them, with a new lease of life. They sound fresh again. Music and more to come soon.”

Not only will Something Else include fan-favourites like “Dreams,” “Zombie,” and “Ridiculous Thoughts,” but the new disc, out April 28, will also include three new songs.

Check out the tracklisting for The Cranberries upcoming Something Else below.

1. “Linger”
2. “The Glory”
3. “Dreams”
4. “When You’re Gone”
5. “Zombie”
6. “Ridiculous Thoughts”
7. “Rupture”
8. “Ode to My Family”
9. “Free to Decide”
10. “Just My Imagination”
11. “Animal Instinct”
12. “You & Me”
13. “Why”