the xx Announce New Album And Drop First Single ‘On Hold’


It’s been four long years, but fans of the xx are finally getting a new album this January, and a new single from the trio today. Following the release of their critically and commercially successful sophomore album Coexist in 2013, the xx have announced their upcoming third studio album I See You, set to be released January 13, 2017.

The new album was recorded in the US and the UK between March 2014 and August 2016, with the first single, “On Hold,” sampling Hall & Oates’ 1981 hit, “I Can’t Go For That.”

The band decided to release their new single specifically this week in wake of the US election results, writing on their Twitter and Facebook pages,

“We realise these are uncertain times and we hope the joy and love we found making the record will find its way out into the world, in however small a way.”

In addition to the catchy “On Hold,” the xx have also released three short snippets of songs from the new album, as well as a playlist of songs they listened to while recording I See You. The playlist, which can be found here, features music from Alicia Keys, Nina Simone, Radiohead, Mazzy Star, Donna Summer, Sade, Cat Power, Rihanna, Solange, and more.

Check out the full listing for I See You below, set to be released January 13, 2017.

1. “Dangerous”
2. “Say Something Loving”
3. “Lips”
4. “A Violent Noise”
5. “Performance”
6. “Replica”
7. “Brave For You”
8. “On Hold”
9. “I Dare You”
10. “Test Me”